Skip to main content

BABC Telecoference - UK/US Efforts to Stimulate a Low Carbon Economy

BABC Houston members are invited to join this teleconference leading into the BABC 2009 Transatlantic Conference being presented by the Washington DC chapter. 
 
UK/US Efforts to Stimulate a Low Carbon Economy: Tuesday March 17 -- 9.00am PST, 12.00pm EST, 5.00pm UK 

What are the 'green' components of the US stimulus package? What is the global context in which the US is taking this action and  how does it compare with efforts in the UK and the EU to stimulate a low carbon economy?  Does it bode well for the likelihood of a global climate deal later this year in Copenhagen ?   Speakers will be:

Matt Kallman is a Research Assistant at the Brookings Institution, where he works on environment and energy issues, including U.S. climate and energy legislation, transportation electrification and international climate cooperation.  He holds a B.S. in Science, Technology and International Affairs from Georgetown University .

Nick Bridge is Counsellor for Global Issues, British Embassy, Washington DC .  His responsibilities include climate, energy and the environment as well as trade, science, agriculture and transport policy.  He previously was Chief Economist at the British Foreign Office, worked on international finance at HM Treasury, and had postings in  China and Japan .
 
Speaker

Organizer Becci Himes

When?

Tue, March 17, 2009
6 a.m. - 7:30 a.m.
(GMT-0500) US/Central

Where?

YOUR OFFICE!!!